panpaster.blogg.se

How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10
How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10






how to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10
  1. How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 install#
  2. How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 64 Bit#
  3. How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 update#
  4. How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 download#

Right-click the icon and choose ‘Run as administrator’. Open the ‘The Sims’ folder and find the application file simply called ‘Sims’ (for me it has a blue octagon shaped icon). Instead, open up the newly installed Maxis folder (which should be in C/Program Files).

  • Once everything is installed, DON’T use the launcher to run the game.
  • You don’t need to register the game, you can choose ‘register later’.
  • You can follow the installation as normal.
  • So it will have the destination ‘C/Program Files/Maxis’ (I just deleted the ‘(x86)’ bit). Follow the instructions BUT when it asks you to choose a location, change it from ‘Program Files (x86)’ to ‘Program Files’.
  • The installation process should have started.
  • Now, using Explorer, click on the disk, open the ‘Set-up’ file and double-click the file ‘Setup_English’ to run it (I guess you could choose any language).
  • Pop the base game disk into the drive but DON’T let it auto-run.
  • At this point it might be a good idea to restart your computer, just to keep things tidy.
  • I just deleted the whole Maxis folder, but be careful you don’t accidentally delete any other Maxis games that might share the file. Then open up your files with Explorer and remove all traces of the game from C: Program Files and Program Files (x86).
  • First make sure any old installation attempts are completely removed! First, uninstall any old sims 1 games using the windows control panel.
  • Not one to give up easily when I’ve set my mind to something, I spent a lot time uninstalling, reinstalling, complaining, brandishing-a-screwdriver-at-my-laptop-in-a-simlike-menacing-fashion… until FINALLY something worked! I’m not quite sure what that something was, but let me talk you through the steps I took, and hopefully it will work for you too! ^.^ The good news is that there are still lots and lots of custom made Sims goodies (floors, walls, skins, objects) freely available online.After spending a lot of time searching for help, the only advice I could find was to: None of these are working for me and I’m not going to chase those up to see if they can be made work again. If you played the original game, you may have used programs such as Sims Art Studio and Sims Homecrafter. They didn’t show up in the menu of Sims to play with, but when I clicked on their house the game continued as normal. The most obvious one for me was the game apparently not saving the new family I created. Overall the game works pretty well, with the odd glitch. I chose Windows XP Service Pack 2 because it was the last operating system I played the original game on. I have no idea if other compatibility modes are better or worse than this one.
  • Go to the Compatibility tab and choose Windows XP (Service Pack 2).
  • On the desktop, right-click on the Sims shortcut you’ve just created and select Properties from the menu.
  • Right click on Sims.exe and select Send To from the menu.
  • Copy this new version of Sims.exe into either C:\Program Files\Maxis\The Sims or C:\Program Files (x86)\Maxis\The Sims folder.
  • It is a reworked version of Sims.exe which you have just renamed. There should be a file called Sims.exe in there.
  • Rename the original Sims.exe file to Sims (Old) or something else.
  • How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 64 Bit#

    It will depend on what version of Windows 10 you are running.įor 32 bit, it’s C:Program Files\Maxis\The Simsįor 64 bit, it’s C:Program Files (x86)\Maxis\The Sims ◄ Most Window s 10 machines are 64 bit

    how to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10

    Open Windows Explorer and navigate to either of the following locations.

    How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 install#

    If you can, install it as an Administrator Yes, Maxis/EA should make the game available legally so people can play it without having to use work-arounds like this.I’m sure this is exactly what you’re using too….

    how to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10

  • For this, I am using a legal copy of the game, which I purchased 20 years ago.
  • How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 download#

    Download the new version of sims.exe at your own risk.I’m not a computer programmer so I haven’t got the foggiest idea how/why this new exe file works. I have played this game on computers running the 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows 10. I can’t remember how or why I came by this workaround but it still seems to be working.

    how to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10

    But not before I make a couple of points. And so, I shall cut to the chase and detail how I get around it. I presume you’re here because you would like to run your original version of The Sims on a Windows 10 computer and have run into problems.

    How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10 update#

    This is the most popular post here so I thought I would update it (March 2020).








    How to get the sims 1 to work on windows 10